Webinars

Upcoming Webinars:

Health Ministry Teams, Faith Community Nurses and Nutrition Professionals:  Collaborating in Places of Worship
Hosted by Religion MIG and Health Ministries Association

Date:  Tuesday, December 8, 2020
Time:  7PM ET / 6PM CT / 5PM MT / 4PM PT
Presenters:  Alyson Breisch, MSN, RN-BC and Mary Niester, MPH, RD

REGISTER HERE:  https://bit.ly/3pu06AP

Webinar Description:
The focus of healthcare today is a shift from treatment to prevention. One aspect of improving the health of an individual or community, assisting in the management of chronic disease or being a valuable resource for underserved populations is by partnering with places of worship. This webinar will explore the relationship of faith and health and look at how Registered Dietitians and other qualified nutrition professionals can be vital resources in a health ministry or Faith Community Nursing program. We will look at standards and best practices, collaboration models and provide valuable takeaways that can be implemented in any faith based space.

Alyson will illustrate how the Scope and Standards of Faith Community Nursing provide the foundational structure for Registered Nurses promoting health within the context of a faith community's values, beliefs, and practices. She will also discuss health ministry responses to address the impact of lifestyle choices, environmental and socioeconomic factors, and normal life cycles on health and wellness across the life span.

Mary will introduce Health Ministries Association members to the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics Religion Member Interest Group and discuss the nutrition professional’s role in the Faith Community Nursing/Health Ministry (FCN/HM) model of care coordination, health care/nutrition education and the relationship between food and faith. Examples will be provided of her role and the role of other RDNs in FCN/HM programs across the country.

OBJECTIVES:
1. Provide an overview of health ministry/Faith Community Nursing
2. List 2 benefits of health ministry/Faith Community Nursing in a place of worship
3. Name 3 areas where a dietitian can be a valuable asset to a health ministry/Faith Community Nursing program

PERFORMANCE INDICATORS: 12.3, 12.4, 1.3

CPE LEVEL 1
1.0 CPEU